Friday, August 28, 2009

Dragonlance: The Annotated Chronicles by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

e Review by Josh Russell (Year 13)  

Warning! Complicated fantasy speak ahead!

Dragonlance:  The annotated chrocicles is the complation of 3 books that make the first Krynn Trilogy.  Dragons of Autumn Twilight, Dragons of Winter Night and Dragons of Spring Dawning.
In Dragons of Autunm Twilight we start in Solace the cillage where most of our group of heroes come from.  Here we meet the staplesof AD&D stories, the Mage: Raistlin, Cleric: Goldmoon, Helf-Elf: Tanis, Thief: Tasselhoff, Warrior: Curamon, Barbarian: Riverwind, Paladin: Sturm and of course the Dwarf: Flint.

After the events that occur in Solace the goup make an epic journey in which they encounter their enemy the Darconins, dragonmen are given the guest to travel to Xak Tsaroth and get the disks of Mishakal.
The seond book Dragons of Winter Night, is just after the events in Xak Tsaroth and the gaining of the Disks, also the battle of Tharses.  The main group is now joined by 3 others Laurana and Elf and her brother Gilfhanus and Elven warrior and Elistan a Cleric of Paladen.  This book is about the development of certain characters we watch Tanis struggle with his contradicting beliefs, his human and elven side, and his love of Kitrara and Laurana.  All this comes to a head in the third book. The 3rd book is a culmination of everything that has happened.  Tanis must choose between his humanity and Elvenness, Kitara and Laurana, good, evil or chaos, also the ancient Gods fully return.

If you like Lord of the Rings you will like this series, as it is like that - but with dragons and more magic.

I rate this highly as it is one of the best books I've ever read. 5 out of 5 stars.

Here is a link the the Dragonlance movie site:  this is the movie of the first book.  (Josh says it's really bad!)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please think carefully before you comment. Only niceness and kindness is allowed!


Related Posts with Thumbnails